CBSO Tour Blog

Hey. So I haven’t written anything in a while but quite a lot has changed. I’ll update everything soonish but for now just have the latest in what’s going on.

Monday 28th May – Birmingham

I’m writing to you from the comfort of home here in grey rainy Brum, as I get ready for three weeks of planes, trains, coaches and concert halls.

So anyway I’m one of the newest additions to the CBSO family (or madhouse?!), having joined the trumpet section as Principal Second at the end of January. Although I’ve done a fair bit of traveling, this is my first tour of duty with a professional orchestra, and one I’ve been looking forward to for quite some time….

Today the plan consists of trying to put my life in a suitcase, and to work out how many shirts and black socks I really need to make it through the next few weeks without seriously damaging my colleagues’ smell receptors, appetites or indeed friendships!

We have 15 concerts in 13 cities across 7 countries leaving tomorrow and getting back on the 8th of June. I have been given a lot of varying advice from people in the band about how to survive, with the most useful being the following: Eat any chance you get; and don’t blow all your subsistence on one poker game! I’m not promising anything, but shall try and keep you guys updated as our travels continue….

As a nice relaxed precursor to the tour, yesterday the orchestra together with Andris Nelsons and a whole host of singers put together a concert performance of one of the longest operas in the repertoire. Wagner’s Parsifal was an epic undertaking, but (now looking back after the 6 hour show) an enjoyable and rewarding experience. Reviews are still to come in but I think it’s safe to say from the standing ovation and endless applause that it was one for the scrapbook.

Parsifal also features heavily in the repertoire on this tour, with 5 concerts featuring selected highlights from the score, plus a final concert in the hallowed hall of the Musikverein in Vienna where we will play the 3rd act in its entirety.

Combining this stunning music with the massive sonorities of Bruckner 7, the melodious Dvorak 7 and a smattering of violin concertos with star soloist Baiba Skride, we have more than enough dots to keep us out of trouble for 3 weeks. At least in the concerts anyway.

Anyway I’m off to start packing, see you in Stuttgart!

Post Parsifal

Post Parsifal Refreshment!

Deviant

Haven’t even left yet and I’ve been pigeonholed…

Tour Packing Fail

Packing going well…

